October 3, 2011

CraftLife Episode 14 – Don’t Patonize Me!… Well, Maybe

Posted in Podcast tagged , , , , , , , at 10:25 pm by treacleandinketsy

A good friend of mine and I had the great fortune of spending a month in New York City, doing an independent study for credit toward our Theatre degrees.  Before we left our hometown and headed north of the Mason-Dixon Line, I made a tee-shirt that said, “Actor For Hire” in big, bold letters on the front.  While this tee shirt did not lead to any acting employment during my time in the Big Apple, it did lead to inquiries as to where others might purchase one like it.  I guess I wasn’t the only one looking for paid work as an actor.  This week in the podcast, we’ll be taking a look patronage in the arts, the good parts and the not-so-good parts.  I’d love to hear what you have to say about it!  Leave me a comment below.

Have you ever wondered what would happen if all actors stopped working for free?  I did, in this blog post.

The Treacle and Ink Etsy shop is officially Going Pink!  100% of the proceeds from all sales during the month of October will be donated to Susan G Komen for the Cure.  Please enjoy a browse and pass along the link.

It was very nice to have Adam back on the podcast!  I’ve missed him lately as he has been enjoying much football in his man cave.

Pumpkin Premie Hat, modeled by my Snowball mic

In addition to the premie hats, I am still hard at work on the Holden Shawlette.  The end is near!

Lyrics to this week’s song (based on the song “Don’t Worry, Be Happy” by Bobby McFerrin)

Don’t Worry, Knit Happy

Here’s a little sock I knit,
Stitched it together bit-by-bit
Don’t worry, knit happy
With every stitch, something could go wrong
Don’t think about that, just sing this song
Don’t worry, knit happy
Don’t worry, knit happy

Oo, oo-oo-oo, oo-oo-oo, oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo
Don’t worry
Oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo
Knit happy
Oo-oo-oo-oo-oo
Don’t worry, knit happy

Oo, oo-oo-oo, oo-oo-oo, oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo
Don’t worry
Oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo
Knit happy
Oo-oo-oo-oo-oo
Don’t worry, knit happy

Ain’t got no needles so costly and nice
Your less expensive ones will suffice
Don’t worry, knit happy
Sometimes you will drop some stitches,
And some of the wool gives you the itches
Don’t worry, knit happy
Look at me, I’m knitting happy

Oo, oo-oo-oo, oo-oo-oo, oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo
Don’t worry
Oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo
Knit happy
Oo-oo-oo-oo-oo
Give me your Ravatar.  When you worry I’ll draw a smiley on it.

Oo, oo-oo-oo, oo-oo-oo, oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo
Don’t worry
Oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo
Knit happy
Oo-oo-oo-oo-oo

Ain’t got no coin, ain’t got no cash
That’s okay, you can knit from your stash
So don’t worry, knit happy
‘Cause when you worry, your gauge gets tight
And makes your knitting to look affright
Don’t worry, knit happy

Oo, oo-oo-oo, oo-oo-oo, oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo
Don’t worry
Oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo
Knit happy
Oo-oo-oo-oo-oo
Don’t worry, knit happy

Oo, oo-oo-oo, oo-oo-oo, oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo
Don’t worry
Oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo
Knit happy
Oo-oo-oo-oo-oo
Don’t worry, knit happy

Now here’s a little sock I knit
Try it on and see if it fits, like good little knitters
And don’t worry, knit happy
With every stitch something could go wrong
That is why you should sing this song
And don’t worry, knit happy

Oo, oo-oo-oo, oo-oo-oo, oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo
Don’t worry
Oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo
Knit happy
Oo-oo-oo-oo-oo
Don’t worry, knit happy

Oo, oo-oo-oo, oo-oo-oo, oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo
Don’t worry
Oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo
Knit happy
Oo-oo-oo-oo-oo
Don’t worry, knit happy

Oo, oo-oo-oo, oo-oo-oo, oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo
Don’t worry
Oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo
Knit happy
Oo-oo-oo-oo-oo
Don’t worry, knit happy

4 Comments »

  1. Your iTunes cover art started showing up with this episode! Hooray for you – I’m still waiting on my to catch up!

    • Yes! I finally figured out what I needed to do to get it to show up. It’s about time, too. 🙂 I am off to check out your premier episode!

      • Girl, what’s the trick?! Are you using libsyn?

      • Nope, no libsyn. I use a Mac, so I actually have to drag my podcast file from where I have it saved in my computer into iTunes. Once it’s there, I right-click on the track, and that opens up a menu that has a “Get Info” option. Clicking “Get Info” opens up another menu where I can edit all of the meta-data, like the artwork, the title/artist/abum name – all of that stuff. You can’t just open the file with iTunes, you do have to actually drag it into iTunes, otherwise the changes you make to the meta-data won’t save. I learned that the hard way. 🙂
        If you’re using a Windows machine, I think you need to open iTunes, click “File” and then “Add to library” in order to get the podcast file into iTunes. The dragging probably won’t work.


Leave a Reply

