April 16, 2011

CraftLife Episode Three – Fiber, Fiber, Everywhere

Posted in Podcast tagged , , , , at 8:36 pm by treacleandinketsy


Whew! After being up to my neck in fiber over the past two weeks, I am just itching to share it with you. But first of all, what do you think about my new design?! Much better, no? Many thanks to Adam, my resident Photoshop whiz.

And now on to the fiber-y goodness!

Looking for yet another knitting podcast to try? Check out the Knitting Podcasts Blog for a whole slew of options.

Hone your expert garage sale-ing skills, and you just might score some used knitting books such as “Knitting Today’s Classics”, or “Knit Tricks”

If you’re ever in the Horseshoe bay area, a trip to Nan’s Needleworks is well worth your time. While you’re there, pick up a few skeins of Trabajos Del Peru in honor of me!

If your calendar is looking pretty empty this time next year, you might like to plan a trip to the Dallas Fiber Fest. Here you can find all kinds of interesting fiber dealers such as Two If By Hand, FiberLady.com, Knitting Fairy, and Shabby Sheep.

Still have more questions about CSAs? Check out Jacob’s Reward Farm for more details.

While I still may be working on those pink ribbon fingerless mitts, I have cast on the Liesel Scarf to keep me interested in the mean time.

If you haven’t done so yet, please join me in the CraftLife Ravelry Group!

6 Comments »

  1. Hello,

    I’m enjoying your new podcast – keep up the good work!

    I can’t resist the chance to show off the 4 semesters of Spanish I was required to take in college – and I’m not fluent or anything by any stretch of the imagination, but I do remember a little! “Trabajar” is the verb “to work” and “trabajos” is the plural noun – “works.” “Del” is literally “of the” it’s used to indicate possession (Spanish doesn’t use apostrophes). So, “Works of Peru” – kinda like “Works of Art.”

    Gotta love random trivia! 🙂

    – Amy

    • I’m so glad you’re enjoying the podcast, Amy! And thank you so much for the more correct translation. Google translator is only good up to a point. “Works of Peru” just sounds so much nicer than “Peru Jobs”, too. Another reason to love this yarn even more!

      • I’m glad my “official proficiency” in Spanish finally came in somewhat handy! I saw that yarn at one of the local yarn shops around here yesterday and thought of you. It is very lovely and looks like it’d be fun to knit with – I was shopping for fingering weight yarn so I forced myself to resist it, but next time I need a chunkier yarn, I’ll definitely check it out!

  2. Alissa said,

    I have finally gotten a few moments to catch up on your first three podcasts. Regarding your crochet around the armholes- it is flaring out because crochet is not the same gauge as knitting. You can drop down a couple of hook sizes, that will help but if it still flares try working fewer stitches around. I usually use a 3:4 2:3 ratio depending on the yarn and gauge.
    As for the blocking of acrylic… If you steam blocked it you are probably stuck, but if you just wet block it you might be able to recover. Take the armholes out first ( since they are wonky) then wash it before trying to crochet around again.

    Best of luck-
    Alissa

    • Thanks for the tips, Alissa! I did wind up taking out the crochet and starting over, and it looks much better now.

      • Alissa said,

        Yup, sometimes that is the only thing to fix it. Great job on the podcast, btw! I love it.


Leave a Reply

