October 27, 2010

A Truly Terrible Trick-Or-Treat Tale

Posted in Uncategorized tagged at 10:54 am by treacleandinketsy

 

Trick-or-Treat by LibbyFifeArtQuilts

It was a dark Halloween night four years ago.  The jack-o-lanterns flickered brightly and cast their eerie light across the porch steps.  Adam and I were enjoying a warm, cozy evening inside, away from the howling wind, and creatures that flooded our street, and occasionally stopped at our door.  The candy bowl, by now, had been partially emptied of its contents, passed along to pint sized princesses, pumpkins, ghosts and goblins.  It seemed that everything was just as it should be…

SUDDENLY, there came a pounding at the door!

I sprang from the couch, reached for the bowl of candy, and headed for the door.  I grabbed the door knob, turned it, and slowly opened the door.

What met my eyes at that moment can only be described as the most terrible trick-or-treat-er I had ever beheld!

Ditch that Wal-Mart bag, and opt for a much more awesome bag like this CUTE Halloween Trick-or-treat bag by YouNiqueCreationGift!

“My baby sleeping in the car,” said the large, 25 year-old, 6’3″ man standing in front of me in jeans and a tee-shirt, and holding out a plastic Wal-Mart bag, expectantly.

Who was I to argue with this giant?

I dutifully placed a few pieces of candy in the bag and closed the door.  That was the last year we handed out candy.

Now, I don’t usually like to use my blog as a venting platform, but as we have been getting closer and closer to Halloween, I have been remembering this incident.  Reading this article this morning prompted me to go ahead and post about it.  It was definitely not the first incident of it’s kind.  For a few years, it seemed that we had been seeing more and more older “kids” coming to our door with barely noticeable attempts at costumes (maybe a smear of white face paint across one cheek) using Halloween as an excuse to beg for candy.  Baby in the car?  For some reason, I’m not buying that.

This is more like it! 1950's Trick-or-Treat by DeerThirty

I loved Halloween as a kid.  Maybe it’s part of the theatre geek in me, but I loved trying to decide what I wanted to dress up as, and then getting the costume and getting into make-up.  (heck, Adam’s and my housewarming party right after we got married was a Halloween costume party)  One of my favorite Halloween pics from when I was younger, was from the year my mom made me a Smurfette costume.  It was awesome!  We didn’t live in town, so our parents would drive us around to the houses of family and friends, people that they knew and trusted.  My grandparents always had the BEST candy, and it was so much fun seeing the costumes that all of the other kids were wearing.  We had a great time!

 

But, just like visits from the Tooth Fairy and Easter Bunny, there comes a time when we change places.  We move from the receiving end to the giving end.  These two sides are different, but both can be a lot of fun.

Unfortunately, that fun is no longer there for me.  It seems that too many of us have opted not to change sides, and that just spoils it for everyone.  We have managed to not be home to hand out candy to trick-or-treat-ers for the past few years, and I have been trying to come up with a reason to not be home this year, too.  We don’t know any kids of that age group anyway, but we live in a neighborhood now, so I’m anticipating a few knocks on the door that night.

I don’t know.  Maybe I should get all dressed up and hand out candy like I really want to, and have the guts to turn away the “big kids”. . .

What do you think?

3 Comments »

  1. Lavon said,

    I also have had a couple of scary encounters with Trick-or-Treaters when I answered the door to discover a “kid” bigger than I was! In the small town where I live now, things are easier because the local businesses on our main street all set up spots outside their stores where the trick-or-treaters can come receive their candy. I simply leave my porch light off and let the store owners treat all the “kids” (some of whom are actually ADULTS…yes ADULTS trick-or-treating!). I believe there is a point at which kids need to learn that the time has come that they should be handing out, rather than receiving, the treats, or they should be taking a younger friend or sibling door-to-door to enjoy the fun.
    Okay, getting off my soapbox now…

  2. Amaria said,

    Places that sell alchohol or tobacco have signs up declaring they won’t sell to people under the legal age- (at least they do here in Australia!). Would a sign with a semi-humorous message about not treating people who have “crossed over” from childhood do the trick (or treat!)

    Halloween isn’t so big here in Australia, but we usually do get a few hopeful little beggars at the door and I have a supply of candy on hand. It’s always fun to put a smile on a child’s face- and they may remember our address favourably when they’re teens and cruising the streets for trouble in a few years!!!

  3. nancy said,

    where have all the innocent times gone?


Leave a Reply

