July 14, 2010

Rediscovering My Long Lost Routine

Posted in Uncategorized at 11:02 am by treacleandinketsy

The Comfort of Routine - by weathergirlshop

It is a general truth.  People like routine.  Get a child into a routine of when to eat, when to play, and when to sleep, and you have a happier child.  Allow me to get into my routine, and you have a happier me.  That is not to say that I don’t relish the opportunities to break out of my daily routine, especially when I’m caught in a rut, or when it just starts to get old.  However, there is a sense of order and familiarity and comfort in knowing what is supposed to happen next and seeing plans that come together. 

The past few weeks have really given my routine a kick in the pants.  First, there was vacation, which is one of those very welcome interruptions.  After coming home, there were little wrenches that began being thrown into the works of my daily pattern.  There was a temporary change at work which led me to take a deeper look at my level of patience with a particular people group, only to discover that I could most definitely cultivate more.  There was (and still is) a lack of internet accessibility.  There were missed appointments.  There was a surprise family visit.   All things which are not necessarily negative, but which do derail the familiar daily pattern.

Hopefully, my old routine will be returning soon, or maybe even better yet, I’ll finally find that job I have been searching for and begin forming a new routine.  Either way, it’s a habit I’m ready to reestablish.

Leave a Reply

