June 9, 2010

How To – Camp Cushions

Posted in Uncategorized tagged at 3:02 pm by treacleandinketsy

If you remember a few weeks ago, I was getting really excited about going camping.  In preparation for the trip, I decided to throw together some quick camping cushions.  I went with a fairly non-gender-specific fabric since these are for girls and guys to use.

Back in my younger days, I spent quite some time in Girl Scouts.  One of the things we made that I used more than anything else was a Sit-Upon.  These handy little seats could be used on wet of dry ground and were a staple for every camping trip.

Back of cushion. The vinyl keeps your bum dry when sitting on wet ground. 🙂

All you need is a 15″ x 15″ square (or more, depending on how large you’d like the cushion) each of outdoor fabric and cloth backed vinyl, and filling.  You could also opt to use two squares of vinyl if you think you’ll be somewhere that’s going to be more than a little damp.  Place the vinyl right-side-down, stack your filling on top (leaving room around the edges to sew), and then top with the piece of outdoor fabric.  Sew around the edges, and voila! In Girl Scouts, we filled the cushion with newspapers, but you can pretty much use whatever you have around.  I didn’t have any newspapers, but I did have some old magazines and I bought a little bit of 1/2″ foam to give it a little softness on top.

I whipped these closed with my sewing machine and trimmed the excess.  Nothing fancy on the edges, but I think they’ll hold up fine.  Pinking shears might have been a good idea.

If you don’t have a sewing machine, or if you’d like to try this project with a younger person, you can use a hole puncher and punch holes around the edges.  “Sew” through the holes with a sturdy length of thick yarn.

That’s it!  These cushions are much easier to pack and lug around than folding chairs.  If you wind up making a few for you, leave me some comments and send me some pics.  I’d love to share your work with others!

Leave a Reply

