May 27, 2010

“Every new beginning comes from some other beginning’s end.” ~Semisonic

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , at 2:20 pm by treacleandinketsy

This is not so much a craft post as it is an introspective monologue. So, if you’re really more about the crafts, don’t feel bad about skipping over this post and digging through the archive for some nifty how-to’s to carry you through until my next post.

For those of you who are still with me, thanks! I just wanted to get a little more personal and update you on some choices I have made recently.

THEATRE and DRAMA-DIGITAL COLLAGE SHEET - BOTTLECAP ART- 1-inch circles for bottlecaps -- downloadable PDF - by HotTomatoInk

Before we moved here to Texas, I was working three jobs: Bank Teller, Church Music Director, and Advertising Sales Executive. We moved, and I went from having three jobs, to having one: actor. My dear husband and I agreed that, since we were moving to a much larger area with more opportunity, I would focus on giving acting my best shot, and not be tied down with a full-time job elsewhere. I asked for six months; he gave me two years.

In those two years, I have had some wonderful experiences and met people that I wouldn’t have met otherwise. I have had my first real experiences in front of the camera and have made some great theatre connections. I have made a decent living – by actor standards – which is to say, not a whole heck of a lot.

Roundhouse Kick - funny cool kung fu fighting humor tee shirt NEW - by TheShirtDudes

Now, I am approaching 30 and have come to the point where it is time to make a change. We live a good life in a lovely little rental house with two of the sweetest dogs ever. I have nothing to complain about – except that I want a little more than that. I want a house of my own and children of my own. I want the freedom to change my hairstyle and appearance without the expense of getting new headshots made. I want to take kung-fu lessons. I want to start a theatre for the disabled. I want to travel and see more of the world, and maybe fly home to visit my family more often.

These desires all have one thing in common, they cost money. Now, I don’t even like to talk about money, but it is a fact of life. And, as I said before, we do live a good life.  But, the only way for us to move forward from where we are now, is to become a true two-income family.

Which brings me full circle.  My desire for these “other things in life” has now grown to the point that it outweighs my desire to be a full-time actress.  I’m not saying that I’m giving up acting completely.  I have no intention of quitting improv, or divorcing Ida Straightshooter, or dropping out of projects that can be worked around my schedule.  In fact, I am interested in getting more involved in the theatre scene around here.  But, I have also decided that now is the time for me to get settled in at a full-time “real job”.

I Want to Be a Bank Teller VINTAGE BOOK - by debfetherlin

I sent off my resume on Monday to the bank that I was working at before we moved.  They have new branches opening up here in DFW, so I thought it might be a good shot.  They called me on Tuesday for an interview on Wednesday.  That was unexpected.   The last time I went job hunting, I looked for four months without being called for a single interview.

So, now I wait.  I am hopeful.  The sooner I find a good full-time job, the sooner I can begin my next life adventure.  It’s an exciting thing to stand at the edge of a new beginning and think of all wonderful possibilities that lay ahead.

“Delight yourself in the LORD and he will give you the desires of your heart.” – Psalm 37:4 (NIV)

Scripture Art DELIGHT (Psalm 37) 8x10 print - lifeverse

I’d love to hear your stories about big life changes you have made.  Leave me some comments!  Encouragement is especially appreciated. 🙂

Leave a Reply

