May 22, 2010

Mid Century Modern and Atomic Design – My New Obsession

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , at 4:27 pm by treacleandinketsy

I recently listed this totally awesome luncheon set in my Etsy shop, Treacle And Ink.

I completely fell in love with this set as soon as I saw it, and it was so hard to give them up.  I love everything about it – the colors, the pattern, the milk glass, the shape of the plates and texture of the cup handles.  As I was doing a little background research on the pattern and maker, I came across an old listing by another Etsy seller for a set that was identical to this one.  Glancing through the tags that this seller had chosen, I noticed one that said “atomic.”  Curious, I plugged atomic into the Etsy search engine to see what exactly that meant.  And so was the beginning of my new obsession.

At the risk of this post becoming a full-blown novel, I’ll try to stick to the main points.

I first became interested in Atomic Design (only I didn’t know it at the time) while playing Fallout 3 on the Xbox 360.  This game takes place a few hundred years after a fictitious nuclear fallout:

Okay, okay, now don’t go thinking, “You want your house to look like THAT?”  Try, instead, to look past the rubble and imagine the interior as it originally was.  I loved that 1950’s feel.

Back to my “atomic” search.  As I clicked through page after page of the Etsy search results, I stared in wonderment.  People still made and used stuff like that?  It wasn’t long before that little curiosity became an intrigued internet scavenger hunt and then a full-blown obsession.

I love it for so many reasons!  I love the look of old futuristic, not so much new futuristic or “modern”.  I love the concept of the Jetson’s meet Ozzie and Harriet.  I think the post-war era also draws me in with ideas of solid family values, G-rated TV, and being able to unashamedly ask the blessing in school before lunch.  And, as an added bonus, this just might be where my taste and my hubby’s taste will come into alignment.

Now, to bring myself back down to Earth, I currently have absolutely nothing in my possession that would even come close to falling under the heading of “Atomic Design”.  So, for now, I’ll just share a few of my recent inspirations.  Enjoy!

courtesy of gusmodern.com

courtesy of replacements.com

courtesy of modernfurniture.com

courtesy of retrorenovation.com

courtesy replacements.com

3 Comments »

  1. jane said,

    okay, this is very cool, odd, and random. i actually own a few of that plate and fork. i’ve picked them up at various thrift stores along the way–i was going to make bracelets out of the forks, lol. thanks for educating us on the term “atomic”. gonna have to share the new knowledge with lex 😀

    • No way! Those are totally the plates and flatware that I would collect if I were going to planning an atomic kitchen. Great minds. I actually thought of you when I saw that fork. … Hmmm…I’ll bet no one ever said that to you before. Ha ha! 🙂

      • jane said,

        lol, you’re right about that fork comment. as far as i can remember, anyway 😉


Leave a Reply

