May 3, 2010

A Little Catch-Up

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , at 4:08 pm by treacleandinketsy

As we all have to do from time to time, now is the time to play a little catch-up.

It’s been quite a weekend here in DFW, and especially at my house.  There are so many things that I need to share with you that it’s going to take more than one post.  So, over this week, I’ll be updating you on all of my crafty and Etsy goodness.

First things first.  I hinted last week in the post What’s Old is Made New that I would be sewing an article of clothing using one of my vintage patterns that I let you have a peek at.  Well, here’s the one I used:

Summer Top Pattern

And here’s the finished product:

Finished Summer Top

I just love that blue/brown color combination!  This pattern called for 2″ lace for the edges.  My original intention was to use a smaller lace, maybe 1″-1 1/2″, but this was the only brown lace that I was able to find 8 yards of!  If I were to go back and re-make it, I would narrow the width of the front and back pieces.  As it is now, once we decide to start having children, I’ll definitely be able to wear this top well into my pregnancy!  All in all, I’m pleased with the way it turned out.  I went with a blue linen fabric, and it is so flowey and light feeling.  It goes great with a pair of slim khaki pants and brown high-heeled slip-ons.

After getting this simple little top put together, it became the inspiration for my latest treasury!  Sunday morning I popped on over to Craftopolis just to see what times the treasuries were opening.  It just so happened that Treasury West was opening in about 5 minutes!  And I can pretty much say, I would love to have everything in this treasury.

Here is your exclusive blog-readers-only sample:

FREE SHIPPING Harmony Bracelet - by kateemarie

blue and chocolate brown wool felted bowl was 15 now 13 - by KNITBLITZ

brown and blue floral tile drink coasters - by wonkymonkey

Perfect Gift Bib with a Message - by HelensCorner

8 Comments »

  1. I love vintage remakes! I’ve got a closet and shop full of them! LOL Your top is so cute, your treasury is too.

    • Thanks! By the way – I LOVE your shop!! I am such a hat lover, and those Star Wars wrap pants are particularly awesome. 🙂

  2. Andrea said,

    I love that top. Great job.

  3. ann said,

    I REMEMBER that pattern and must have made half a dozen tops out of it! Nostalgia time! And I love the brown and blue combo, it’s yummy.

    • How funny is that! I guess it just supports that idea that if you hold on to something for long enough, it will come back around. Thanks for the comment, Ann!

  4. Jingle said,

    How neat! You did a great job!

  5. jane said,

    looks awesome, girl. man, now you’ve got me wanting to make something!


Leave a Reply

