April 26, 2010

What’s Old is Made New

Posted in Uncategorized tagged at 2:47 pm by treacleandinketsy

Any time I go to a garage sale or thrift store, I always keep my eyes open for vintage sewing patterns.  I love them!  They can be difficult to come by.  Sometimes I will find one that I absolutely love, but it won’t be in my size.  Those older patterns tend to only come in one size, not a range of sizes like today’s patterns.

Other times, I’ll sift through 40 or 50 patterns, and not like a single one.  Early 1980’s prom dress pattern anyone?… Anyone?… No, I didn’t think so.

But, other times, I do get lucky and come across a pattern in my size (or close enough) that I just have to have.  After a quick inspection to make sure all of the pattern pieces and instructions are there, I pay my 25 cents and gleefully shove the pattern into my bag.  One of the things I love about buying vintage patterns is the price!

Another thing that’s really great is that most of the patterns have been used before, therefore the pattern itself has already been cut out.  That’s one less step for me!  And, of course, my favorite thing about vintage patterns is that I can make one-of-a-kind projects.  There is no way I’m going to run into someone at the supermarket who’s wearing the same thing I am.

Here are few of the patterns I’ve acquired over this past year:

I actually made the dress at the end of last summer.  It has not been worn much, however.  My dear hubby is a little thrown off my the bow around the waist.  It ties in the front, and not in the back… kinda makes you wonder if I’m expecting.  I’ll see if I can find a pic of my completed dress.

I love both of these summery tops patterns!  Actually, I guess I could do a top and a dress with the one on the right.  Hmmm…

Are these capes not the most awesome things ever!?  I have to admit, I have always wanted a cape, but you don’t just run out to the mall and buy a new one.  I’m in love with the white cape in the pattern on the left.  And the long cape in the pattern on the right is pretty simple and classy looking.  Ahhhh, I dream of them.  I just have to make sure that I get one made before it starts turning cold this year.

This weekend, I ran out to JoAnn’s and bought everything I needed to get started on one of these patterns.  Which one??  You’ll just have to wait and see!

5 Comments »

  1. Wow! What a great idea!

    I am not a great sewer, but have been thinking that I might like to try my hand at it again but still haven’t gotten around to it. I love vintage things and think that is a great idea. Will have to check out a second hand store or some garage sales during the spring to see if I can find anything special.

    Love the pattern top left – the dress specifically. Very lovely!

    Cheers and happy sewing!

    • Amanda, let me encourage you to go for it! You can definitely find simple patterns to start off with. I’d love to see what you come up with!

  2. jane said,

    i always check out the vintage patterns, too (haha, surprise, surprise, right?) but i don’t sew enough yet to own many of them.

    lex and i have been keeping our eyes peeled for a good sewing machine at a thrift store–nit’s back to using hers constantly, so i feel bad trying to go into her sewing room and steal time on it :-\

    i’m hoping i can snag one before i (potentially) head off to school…making anything i might need/want on the cheap would be really nice for a maybe-soon-to-be-(again)-poor college kid 😉

  3. I’m addicted to vintage pattern! Buy them whenever I find them at second hand store or garage sales…and if I really want one ebay and etsy are a great place to find them (in your size) but you have to pay more 😛

    • I haven’t purchased one from Ebay or Etsy…yet. I have hearted a few Etsy shops that carry them, however! My problem is that I pick up more than I actually wind up making. I just need to get on the ball! Ha ha.


Leave a Reply

