April 23, 2010

Works In Progress

Posted in Uncategorized tagged at 5:51 pm by treacleandinketsy

The other day I was organizing all of my craft supplies in a rolling cabinet that had recently become the former home of my husband’s original Nintendo Games.  I was glad to get the storage space, and even went so far as to unpack supply remnants that were still in boxes from when we moved here to Texas, almost two years ago.  As I dug through the stiff paint brushes, pots of paint – now mostly dried up, and scraps of fabric and embroidery thread, I discovered a project that I remember working on in college.  It was a white linen wrap skirt I had made and begun embroidering and beading a border around the bottom.

For the life of me, I can’t remember why I stopped that project, and after studying the intricate pattern of the embroidery, I can’t remember which colors of thread and beads were supposed to go where.  I also can’t remember why I chose to use red, green, and gold as my colors… the thought of the finished product now makes me cringe a little and question those choices.

This discovery got me thinking about other projects that were started but never finished.  Remember those eggs I wrote about in my post, “The Doldrums of Inspiration”?  Then there is the crocheted blanket/shawl that has been in the bottom drawer of my dresser for, oh, about seven years now.  I was also steadily working on a cute little needlepoint featuring a teapot and a sentiment about friendship that I started about a year and a half ago.  It’s about 3/4 of the way finished, but for some reason I haven’t picked it back up.

I am at a loss to discover a cause for this apparent disinterest.  I know I wouldn’t have even started these projects if I had known from the beginning that I wouldn’t finish them.

What about you?  Do you have any projects that you have started and then stopped just short of completion?  Even better, have you ever finally completed a project long since forgotten?  Leave me a comment and let me hear your stories!

6 Comments »

  1. Amaria said,

    I know the feeling so well!
    I have at least two unfinished cross stitch pieces. One is a sampler with an array of blue and white crockery. Each time I pick it up, I discover that I had a reason for not continuing… but I forget (again!) what it was. Something needed unpicking, I think! The other, a “Hummel” picture, was meant for someone when they had a baby, but I was too slow, the moment has passed, and… well, maybe another time. I don’t like doing cross stitch much!
    I’ve also got several illustrations for a children’s story book I started years ago. I’m really impressed with the pictures every time I uncover the sketch book by accident, almost as though I’m looking at someone else’s work in admiration!… but I’m not really inspired by the particular story anymore, and can’t get motivated to finish it! I guess it’s what’s called artistic temperament.

    • Oh, Amaria, I’m so glad to know I’m not the only one! It’s so funny what you said about being impressed with your illustrations. I felt the same way when I discovered the my skirt – almost like it wasn’t my work. I love that you termed it “artistic temperament”! Now I know what to call it. 🙂

  2. Sheila said,

    I have so many UFO’s (un-finished-objects) I could not begin to list them all.
    Mainly it’s because I’ll get half way through something and realize I’m not going to like the way it looks. Some people have a flair for planning a finished product, I tend to go with what I think will look good, and many times it fails, like testing a new recipe. I also have a few quilt tops that need to be sandwiched and quilted, which is not the fun part for me, so they are hung in a closet. I

  3. Tracey said,

    I can relate to all of the comments. I have so many different interests and I see something new I want to try and I stop what I’m currently working on or if something is not coming out like I want, I take it apart and start all over again. I am constantly looking for new crochet patterns and I am trying to design some of my own.

    Whether its scrapbooking, crocheting, or making jewelry, I’ve finally realized that I need to focus on just one thing at a time. Great story!!!

    • I totally get that desire to try so many new things, Tracey. I have that gene somewhere in me, too. But, I have to say, I applaud you for taking apart projects that are not turning out like you planned and starting again! I usually just (shamefully) abandon my projects that don’t turn out. Way to go for not giving up! 🙂


Leave a Reply

