March 23, 2010

The Doldrums Of Inspiration

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , at 5:16 pm by treacleandinketsy

Some days, I just feel craftier than others.

I have another set of stuffed Easter eggs that I am wanting to list in my shop.  They have been pieced together and stuffed.  The only thing that remains to finish them is to sew them closed.  I have been carrying them around with me for about a week now, planning on finishing them, but so far, nothing.

Why?  It really won’t take that long to just sew them up.  It’s not a strenuous activity.

I just don’t feel like it.

APPALACHIAN RIDGE BLEND Organic Custom Blend Coffee - by katherynmd

I have only recently begun to pay attention to where my inspiration comes from and what things put me in the crafty mood.  One thing I know for sure: I craft better if I have my morning coffee.  I can focus better on what I am doing, and I can get more done.  I’m not going to make excuses for it, or apologize for it.  That’s just the way it is.  I went off of coffee completely for about three weeks, and it totally interrupted my rhythm.

Pirate Owl 6 x 6 Print - by leearthaus

I also craft better if I don’t feel like there are other things that I need to get done first.  A sink full of dirty dishes?  Those need to get done.  Dirty laundry?  Those need to get done – although I will admit I have forgone many a load of laundry in the pursuit of more creative activities if I felt like I was on a roll.  You have to ride the wave of inspiration when it hits, or you just might miss what it’s bringing!

Alas, at the present time, I can neither diagnose the cause of my slump, nor prescribe a remedy.  I’m just waiting for it to pass.  In the mean time, I would love to hear any suggestions that you may have for getting out of this slump.  Is there something that you do to inspire a creative mindset?  Leave me a comment

Leave a Reply

