March 22, 2010

Austen, Texas

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , at 7:05 pm by treacleandinketsy

Gazing Upon Pemberley 8x10 Archival Print - by TaraFlyPhotos

“It is a truth universally acknowledged,” that I am a Jane Austen fan.

I have at least one copy of each of her novels, along with at least one film version of each…two each of Persuasion, Sense and Sensibility, and Pride & Prejudice.  Three years ago, I dressed as Elizabeth Bennet for Halloween, and my dog’s name…

NEW - Pemberley Dish Towel - by Brookish

…is Pemberley.

I was introduced to Austen by a friend who lent me her copy of Pride and Prejudice my freshman year in college.  Shortly thereafter, the Ang Lee version of Sense and Sensibility hit theaters, and I was hooked.  There is just something about the way Austen writes about her time of courtesy, manners and honor that draws me in every time.

Last night, I was so glad to have a “new” Jane Austen story to experience.  Lost in Austen is a British TV miniseries that follows the adventure of Amanda Price, a 21st century girl who is also a lover of Austen, as she meets, and then trades places with Elizabeth Benet thanks to a magical hidden door in her apartment.

I know, I know, sounds cheesy, right?  It took me about ten minutes to get into the movie, but once I did, I was in it for good.  This was such a fun movie!  As soon as Amanda and Lizzy trade places, things begin to change.  One of the obvious questions is, if Elizabeth is in 21st century London, what happens to Mr. Darcey?  And Mr. (ugh) Collins?  If she is not there to encourage Jane in the pursuit or Mr. Bingley, do they end up together?  And for Amanda’s part, how does a girl with 21st century manners adapt to the manners of the late 18th century, all the while trying desperately to keep the story progressing as it is supposed to?

Jane Austen Pride and Prejudice Vintage Illustration Sachet-News From London

If you’re a Jane Austen fan, take the time to catch this new modern twist.  As I said, it was originally made as a four-part

Pride and Prejudice Mr Darcy Vinyl Wall Decal - by ten23designs

TV miniseries, but I watched it on Netflix, and it ran right under three hours.  You will get more of the humor if you are familiar with the book or story, and they make references to the BBC version starring Colin Firth which made me giggle.  Remember Colin Firth’s afternoon swim??

With that said, my husband, who also thoroughly enjoyed the movie, was of the opinion that Lost in Austen would be a great way to introduce those who are less familiar to the world of Jane Austen.

Oh, and rumor has it that they are in pre-production for a Hollywood remake of this film.  (thanks to guardian.com.uk for that tid-bit)

A quick Google search directed me to this website where you can watch it online.  As of right now, if you have Netflix, it’s on Instant Watch.  Let me know if you get a chance to see it.  I’d love to hear your opinion!

5 Comments »

  1. Adam said,

    I admit… I really did like this movie. It was a great way to tell the story but in a modern tone and it had a lot of humor (stuff I actually understand).
    If you are a guy or have a guy and can talk them into watching this, they may actually want to watch the other “straight” stories.
    It ran a little long for my taste, but that was because it was set up to be a miniseries not a sit down watch for 3 hours straight movie.
    Overall 4 out of 5 stars!

    Adam

  2. jane said,

    oh dear, who doesn’t remember colin firth’s afternoon swim? 😉 that moment is to jane austen as basically anything from the 80’s is to pop culture references, lol. my favorite part of bridget jones’s diary is the moment where helen fielding pokes fun at how the tracking in bridget’s (and every other british woman’s) recorded-from-tv version of the bbc film jams each time that part comes on, haha.

    you know i’ll be looking into that link to watch online. hooray for your awesome blog!

    • Ha ha! I had forgotten about that part in Bridgett Jones. Funny stuff. 🙂 And, thanks for the compliment!

  3. Tara Fly said,

    Thank you for featuring my “Gazing Upon Pemberley” piece in your wonderfully written blog!
    I had my heart set on naming my first daughter, Pemberley, or Pemmie for short… but my (ex)husband put his foot down, “Absolutely not.” Thus, I also wound up with a pet named Pemberley, a cat. LOL

    “Lost in Austin” was pretty funny; I found it entertaining how she tampered with the storyline to achieve a different ending…. it was unexpected. 🙂

  4. jane said,

    sure thing 🙂 i wish xanga offered linkbacks so you could see it, but fyi, i posted a link to your past in lieu of posting on my own last night–i was tired, and your post was awesome, lol.


Leave a Reply

