February 15, 2010

Snow Day 2010

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , at 9:34 pm by treacleandinketsy

As I awoke last Thursday morning, the first thing my husband said to me was, “Did you dream about something white last night?”

“What?” I asked groggily. “No.”

Then he said, “Look outside.”

I peeked through the blinds, and what should meet my eyes but a sparkling winter wonderland!  Everything was covered in snow, and big fat flakes were still coming down.  What an awesome way to wake up in the morning!

I was antsy all day at work, just waiting to get home and play in the show.  Around four o’clock that afternoon, I got a call from my hubby.

“When are you coming home so we can play in the show?”

“Regular time, I guess,” I sighed.

“Well, I’m going to go out and build a snowman.”

“No you are not!!” I practically shouted.  “You have to wait for me.”

“Well,” he said, “can I just build a snowdog?”

“Yes, you can build a snowdog.”

And that’s just what he did.

The snow continued non-stop for the rest of the day, and by the next morning, we had between 12″ and 14″ at our house.  A new record was set for the most snow in Dallas EVER in a 24 hour period in recorded weather history.  I had enough of my wits about me to put a large bowl out that morning to collect snow for snow cream.  What an awesome treat that was!

We did manage to build our snowman, with caramel candy eyes, a carrot nose, and blueberry mouth, and the dogs had a blast playing outside.  It was their first experience with snow, and they slept so soundly that night.

My talented husband juggled snowballs, and I got soaking wet making a snow angel.

I know that so much of the country is tired of the snow by now, but I was just grateful that we got to have our little share.

1 Comment »

  1. jane said,

    that’s awesome!! great snow art on all sides, and i’m so glad that your doggies got to share in the fun 😀


Leave a Reply

